Many insurance companies automatically deny workers’ compensation claims—even when the injury is clear, and all the paperwork is perfect.
Don’t give up.
That’s what they want you to do—and it isn’t right. Here’s what you need to know.
What to do when your workers’ comp claim is denied
Almost all Oregon employers must carry workers’ compensation insurance. Insurance is supposed to cover your lost wages and medical expenses from a work injury.
After your employer files an insurance claim for your injury, the insurance company has 60 days to accept or deny your workers’ compensation claim.
Many insurance companies automatically deny workers’ comp claims.
If your claim is denied, the insurer will send you a letter explaining the denial.
That is when you need to talk to a lawyer to protect your legal rights.
It is your right to appeal a denied workers’ comp claim
You have a right to ask for reconsideration of the denied comp claim.
But the Workers’ Compensation Board has very strict rules and time limits for appealing your denied workers’ comp claim. Before your claim denial hearing, you will need to:
- Prepare your appeal;
- Assess your injuries and prognosis with your physician; and
- Provide the proper documentation for the judge.
Appealing a denied workers’ comp claim is not easy: insurance companies hope you will just accept the decision.
That is why Oregon law makes insurance companies pay for the cost of hiring a lawyer.
Legal costs for injured workers
Oregon law requires insurance companies to pay legal costs for injured employees who are forced to hire a lawyer to appeal a workers’ compensation denial.
Our fee comes out of their pocket – not yours.
Alvey Law Group has successfully overturned thousands of worker’s compensation denials.
An experienced and influential workers’ compensation attorney, Marcia Alvey has more than 30 years experience helping injured workers.
Need to learn a little more before we talk? Check out the expanded FAQ.