Carpal tunnel syndrome (CTS) is a work injury, caused by repetitive stress to the wrist.
CTS occurs when the median nerve, running from the wrist to the hand, is compressed and inflamed.
This can cause a lot of pain, and limit the use of the hand and wrist, leading to:
- Wrist pain;
- Numbness in your fingers, or palms;
- Tingling in your thumbs;
- Difficulty grasping objects;
- Difficulty moving your fingers.
Did your job cause CTS?
Some people believe carpal tunnel syndrome only comes from long days of typing in an office. But it can happen in almost any workplace.
Work-related Carpal Tunnel Syndrome can come from:
- Tool operations;
- Sewing or stitching;
- Factory line work; or
- Assembly line activities.
Filing a workers’ comp claim for carpal tunnel syndrome
Almost all Oregon employers carry workers’ compensation insurance on their employers. If you have been diagnosed with CTS, and you believe it is related to your job duties, you will need to report this to your employer.
Your employer will have 5 days to file an insurance claim.
Then, the insurance company has 60 days to accept or deny your workers’ compensation claim.
Many insurance companies automatically deny workers’ compensation claims for CTS.
If your carpal tunnel syndrome claim is denied, the insurer sends you a letter explaining the denial.
They are betting that you won’t fight for your rights.
Prove them wrong.
FAQ: filing a workers’ comp claim in Oregon
Are there any activities I can’t do while my workers’ comp claim is pending?
It is important that you talk to your doctor about physical activities and limitations from your work injuries.
You should know that photographs and comments posted to any social media can be considered relevant to your injury claim.
While your claim is pending, you should not be undertaking any activity that you do not want to explain to a judge in court.
What happens if my workers’ compensation claim is denied?
If the insurance company denies your claim, you will receive no benefits—until and unless your attorney can get that denial overturned.
Even if your claim has been denied, you should continue to get the medical treatment you need.
If you have private health insurance, consider submitting any outstanding medical bills submitted to your health insurer. Most insurance companies will ask you to sign a Trust Agreement, which states that they will be repaid by the workers’ compensation carrier for any benefits if you are successful in overturning the denial.
How much does it cost to hire a workers’ comp lawyer?
If Alvey Law Group successfully overturns the claim denial, the insurance company will pay the attorney’s fees.