Alvey Law Group has helped thousands of Oregonians get their rightful benefits from insurance companies.
What you need to know about Workers’ Compensation Law
Almost all Oregon employers have to carry workers’ compensation insurance.
The sole purpose of this insurance is to cover lost income and medical expenses for injured workers.
The workers’ compensation law protects people who are hurt on the job, including:
- Workplace accident injuries
- Overuse injury claims
- Occupational disease claims
- Hearing loss claims
- Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
- Back injuries, shoulder injuries, and more.
Questions about your work injury? Get a free consultation with the experienced workers’ compensation law team at Alvey Law Group.
How to file a Workers’ Compensation Claim in Oregon
Step 1: Tell your employer.
If you were hurt at work, you need to tell your employer as soon as possible.
Your employer should give you a form: Oregon Form 801, Worker’s and Employer’s Report of Occupational Injury or Disease/Illness.
Step 2: Tell your doctor.
The doctor’s office will need to know that your injuries are work-related.
Then, they will file the necessary paperwork for your employer’s insurance company to pay medical bills.
Step 3: Submit a claim.
You will need to fill out Oregon Form 801, Worker’s and Employer’s Report of Occupational Injury or Disease/Illness, in order to get insurance benefits.
Then, return Oregon Form 801 to your employer.
They will have 5 days to send it to their insurance company. An insurance company adjuster will open your workers’ compensation claim.
Step 4: Your claim is denied or accepted.
The insurance company has 60 days to accept or deny your workers’ compensation claim.
You will receive either a “Notice of Acceptance”, or a letter of denial.
A Notice of Acceptance will detail the injuries and conditions covered by insurance.
A letter of denial will explain your right to appeal.
This is when it’s really important to talk to a workers’ compensation lawyer.
Get help with a workers’ compensation claim denial
Many insurance companies automatically deny workers’ compensation claims.
They are betting that you won’t fight for your rights.
Don’t give up!
If your claim was denied, you have the right to appeal. But there is a very strict time limit. Make sure you talk with someone who understands Oregon workers compensation law before it’s too late.
Under Oregon law, insurance companies have to pay legal costs when injured employees have to hire a lawyer to appeal a workers’ compensation denial.