One car accident can change your life in a second.
The crash is terrifying. The aftermath is surreal.
And then, the bills start coming.
Medical care for your injuries can cost you thousands of dollars. Your injuries can cause you to miss weeks of work, and fall behind on your bills.
We understand that one car accident can have huge repercussions in your life. That’s why we offer a free consultation for car accident claims.
Filing a Car Accident Claim in Oregon
Filing an insurance claim for a car accident injury can get complicated.
Here’s what you need to know.
After drivers report an accident to their insurance companies, the insurers will assign adjusters. The adjuster will be your primary contact for filing a claim for your injuries or damages.
About Oregon Insurance Requirements
- Liability Insurance: Liability insurance covers bodily injury and property damage for an accident for which you are liable, or at-fault. Oregon drivers must have at least $25,000 in insurance coverage for each person, and $50,000 per crash.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP): PIP pays for medical bills, lost wages, and other “reasonable and necessary” expenses related to the car accident, up to 15,000 total per person. You can use PIP immediately after a car accident.
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM/UIM): Not every driver always has up-to-date coverage. And if you have serious injuries, the minimum liability policy might not cover all of your bills and expenses. If you are in an accident with a driver who has insufficient insurance – or no insurance – you can access your own UM/UIM insurance policy. The minimum is $25,000 in insurance coverage for each person, and $50,000 per crash.
Insurance adjusters can make it hard for you to get your bills paid after a crash.
Alvey Law Group works with accident victims on a contingency fee basis: you do not pay attorney’s fees until your case is resolved.